Contact Us

New David Bowie Live Album and Rare EP Slated for Record Store Day


It wouldn’t be a Record Store Day without at least one release from David Bowie. Today (March 9), it was revealed that April 22 will see two collections of rare or unreleased music from him, a 1974 concert and an EP from 1971.

The news was announced on his website, saying that Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles ’74) was recorded at the Universal Amphitheatre during his tour in support of Diamond Dogs. The show took place after Bowie had fired the Spiders From Mars (and therefore different from David Live) and replaced them with many of the studio musicians with whom he had, that summer, begun work on Young Americans, including guitarists Earl Slick and Carlos Alomar, saxophonist/flutist David Sanborn and background singer Luther Vandross.

Some of the music from that date wound up in Alan Yentob’s BBC documentary, Cracked Actor. Bowie’s longtime producer Tony Visconti took the original multi-track tapes and mixed them last fall. They’re packaged across three LPs, with the sixth side featuring an etching of the Bowie logo from that period, and combined with new artwork and rare photographs from the concert.

Bowpromo contains alternate mixes of seven songs recorded during the sessions for Hunky Dory, five of which wound up on the album. It was a split EP, with the second half containing five tracks by Dana Gillespie, who was also signed to the Gem Group, a company formed by Bowie’s manager Tony Defries. He pressed only 500 copies and distributed them to labels in the hopes of securing a deal for one of them. On this, the first commercial release (although this version of “Eight Line Poem” was found on one of Bowie’s Record Store Day exclusives in 2015), Gillespie’s songs have been removed and the package adds five Bowie prints and new liner notes.

David Bowie, ‘Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles ’74)’ Tracklisting

Side 1
“Rebel Rebel”
“Moonage Daydream”
“Sweet Thing / Candidate / Sweet Thing”

Side 2
“Suffragette City”
“Aladdin Sane”
“All the Young Dudes”
“Cracked Actor”

Side 3
“Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me”
“Knock on Wood”
“It’s Gonna Be Me”
“Space Oddity”

Side 4
“Diamond Dogs”
“Big Brother”

Side 5
“The Jean Genie”
“Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide”
“John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)”

Side 6
David Bowie logo etching

David Bowie, ‘Bowpromo’ Track Listing

“Oh! You Pretty Things”
“Eight Line Poem”
“It Ain’t Easy”
“Queen Bitch”
“Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro”

Every David Bowie Single Ranked

Next: Top 20 David Bowie Videos

Best of KACL

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for At-Work VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive At-Work VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.