The National Weather Service has expanded the area of the WINTER STORM WARNING to include the counties of Dunn, Mercer, Oliver and Morton.

They join the earlier counties under the influence of the Winter Storm Warning including Williams, Mountrail, McLean and Burleigh. Much of the energy of this system will be east of the Missouri River. These cities are in the bullseye include Bismarck, Mandan, New Salem, Harvey, Steele, Minot, Crosby, Williston and Buelah.

The warning is in effect from 4am Friday until 6am Saturday.

Expect rain and sleet transitioning into a wintery mix and snow.

This system will impact travel through the area and make for a messy commute Friday morning. Winds up to 35 mph could cause whiteout conditions.

Snow amounts will range from 6-10 inches with some area receiving as much as 12 inches.


Stay with Townsquare Media for update on this changing weather situation.


More From Cool 98.7 FM