License Suspended Over Unpaid Tickets? Minnesota To Say…No?
This is the thinker story of the day. Is it discrimination to suspend your license because you can't pay fines? I don't know...probably?
Minnesota, even 8 miles over the speed limit is $200?
Let me say it for y'all...
IF YA DO THE CRIME, DO THE TIME! Or by "time", I mean pay the fine.
Have you ever in your life had to go drive through the teller lane of the bank to withdraw money from your account? Was it because you had less than $20 in your account, so you couldn't use the ATM? I have. But I've been around a long time.
Ever had your licensed suspended? I have.
But I've been around a long time...and that's a long story anyways.
So live BLOWS with your licensed suspended, and life also blows more when you're broke. So what if being broke could lead to your drivers license being suspended? Not because of a heinous crime committed on the road, but because you're simply doing what everyone else is doing (Minneapolis, I'm talking to you!)...SPEEDING! In the Twin Cities you'll die if you don't.
Problem is, it's spendy to get caught speeding in Minnesota. I know it's more expensive in other states, but I believe fines are about the cheapest in North Dakota....
For a violation of North Dakota's basic speeding law, the fine is $30. Fines for exceeding an absolute speed limit depend on the driver's speed. Generally, the following penalties apply:
1 to 5 miles per hour over the limit. Fine of $5.
6 to 10 miles per hour over the limit. Fine of $5 plus $1 for each mile per hour in excess of five miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
11 to 15 miles per hour over the limit. Fine of $10 plus $1 for each mile per hour in excess of ten miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
16 to 20 miles per hour over the limit. Fine of $15 plus $2 for each mile per hour in excess of 15 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
It goes on...but let's deal with the reasonable theory of going 71 in a 55. As I see it- it's a $15 fine plus $30 for the basic fine. $45.00? Correct me if I'm wrong.
If you have a minute read this blog from Amy and her husband getting caught in ND for a ticket...$15.00!
How about 71 in a 55 in Minnesota? Itasca County breaks it down...
Common Violation Fine Amounts
That same 16 MPH over the speed limit in Minnesota?
That's $220 correct? So 41 in a 25? C'mon, you've been there...220 bucks!
So if you can't pay the fines, there are scenarios where your license can be suspended for non-payment. So now your license is suspended, you can't get to work, and if you try- you could be suspended for all infinity.
Or you could hire a high price lawyer to get it off your record, or just pay up and take the hit on your insurance. All cool things to do if you have the money. If you don't- you're screwed and isn't that discrimination against the financially unwell.
Minnesota's legislature is considering separating the current fine department from the license department. So money isn't necessarily a trigger issue for your ability to drive. Don't get me wrong, you still have to be insured.
My thanks to Prairie News Service for bringing this legal wrangling to my attention. Thanks to you for reading this far...but please continue to read on with this report...
The proposal saw bipartisan support in the Legislature, and also has the backing of a number of legal groups, including the Minnesota County Attorneys Association and Minnesota State Bar Association.
It's hard sometimes to get up when you're down...a little equity may help you find your way.